Once upon a time…

Time has a wonderful way of showing us what really matters…

Sauk Mountain Hike

on August 27, 2014

???????????????????????????????

Mt. Bạker behind

IMG_3251

It’s always further than you thought. It’s always higher than you thought. And it’s always harder than you thought

IMG_3264

Skagit River. It’s so hazy there and sunny here

IMG_3268

Mt. Baker again. View from where we stopped to take a breath.

IMG_3274

You don’t have to be a rose to be beautiful. See, you have my attention!

IMG_3276

2.1 mile zigzag trail, rated as a “More Difficult” hike. But actually moderate most of the way and only difficult the last .5 mile to the top.

IMG_3277

Can’t remember how many times we said “Almost there” and then kept walking like forever.

IMG_3283

This is how I do a selfie. Love it!

IMG_3294

Trail getting nastier

IMG_3301

Almost there (again). Quote to keep in mind “Never measure the height of a mountain until you have reached the top. Then you will see how low it was”.

IMG_3309

“Chasing angels or fleeing demons, go to the mountains.”

IMG_3304

Summer here and winter behind me. Can’t tell how much I love this feeling on being on top of everything. I am here to see the world, not for the world to see me (even if I posted this picture here :))

6 responses to “Sauk Mountain Hike

  1. starmetz says:

    I love mountain climbing. I had small mountains in Penna. Today, in PR we have rain forests. At the top, all the vegetation leans away from the wind and is severely stunted due to the high winds. It gives a very weird feeling; especially when the wind is blowing the fog around. The fog looks like ghosts coming and going..

    Like

    • I am pretty new to mountain climbing but hiking in the mountain does give me a lot of pleasure. The stunning view, the quietude, the ‘accomplished’ feeling etc. And I don’t mind being around those flying fog “ghosts” since I don’t get to see them very often 🙂

      Like

  2. Pekebun says:

    I saw your “name” on The Daily Post & simply clicked on it 🙂
    Beautiful photos… Looking at them is making my feet itchy (again). Thanks for the motivation.

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting my blog and yes I am honored that The Daily Post picked my prompt. They edited it a bit but that’s ok 🙂 I am glad my photos are motivating and I hope you can find time to go hiking soon!

      Like

  3. hiking is such bliss!

    Like

Leave a Reply

